The lazy girl who joined a gym

photo 2
photo 1
Before I begin this post, I should probably draw attention to the fact that it’s been three whole months since I’ve blogged. It feels quite sad to write that, but the truth is, a lot of new changes have been made to my life and I’ve been too busy adjusting and settling in to take time out to blog. I’ve started a new job AND joined a gym (hence the title of this post), so I guess it’s only honest to say I lost my blogging motivation somewhere along the way. In some ways, it’s been quite refreshing to have a ‘break’ from broadcasting the contents of my wardrobe on the internet, but the guilt of not posting regularly has finally crept up on me and since I’ve been spending most of my evenings attempting to get fit, it seemed rather apt to make joining the gym the focus of my comeback post.

So here we are: the girl who has barely exercised since the Year 9 cross-country run finally got her ass into gear and signed up for a gym membership. Let’s face it, since my metabolism slowed down and upsettingly revealed I could no longer eat whatever I want and still wake up with a flat stomach, it was only a matter of time before I took the plunge. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve always been pretty health conscious in relation to my diet, and I’m quite lucky to be naturally slim – but there’s a difference between being slim and fit, and I certainly wasn’t any of the latter. And so project tone-up began…

On day one, I felt like a fish out of water. Some may say it was a case of ‘all the gear and no idea’ – and they’d be 100% right. So to save myself from embarrassment, I signed up for a personal training session. This allowed me to see how each machine works and learn a little about which areas of the body they help the most. After (kind of) getting to grips with it all, I was ready to go it alone.

The personal trainer made a little workout programme for me, based on what I wanted to achieve – toning up. This was to be used as a guideline rather than followed strictly, and involved using free weights, the leg and chest press, the lat pull-down, and various squats and ab-toning exercises.

The first couple of weeks weren’t easy, but once I began to feel more comfortable using the various pieces of equipment, I actually started to enjoy myself. One word of advice would be to not throw yourself into the deep end straight away. This is the mistake I made and let me tell you, struggling to walk up and down the stairs for three days was not a pretty sight. Your body needs time to adjust to the new routine and so it’s best to ease into each workout and gradually increase your speed or weight number over time.

Eating a healthy, balanced diet is just as important as working out, so I try to eat more natural, fresh foods and less naughty foods like crisps and chocolate. Quinoa and cous cous are great for lunches and can be made exciting by swapping in different vegetables or alternating between chicken and fish. I’ve also started snacking on nuts if I get peckish at work, rather than divulging in the biscuits and doughnuts that are often circling the desk.

Two months on, I’ve still got a long way to go, but I’ve been making steady progress and noticed my fitness levels have really increased. Despite heading to the gym straight after work, I surprisingly feel less tired on the whole and instead feel recharged and ready for the next day.

So who would’ve thought it? The (not so)-lazy-(anymore) girl is a gym convert. I don’t quite have that Victoria’s Secret body just yet, but I’m a few lunges closer than I was before.

Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Bloglovin | Lookbook

2 thoughts on “The lazy girl who joined a gym

Leave a Reply

