My Internship at British VOGUE

Before I begin, some of you may have noticed that I’ve been a bit AWOL recently. That’s because I’ve been super busy trying to kick-start my career in the magazine industry and ashamedly, my blog has fell party to the repercussions. It’s not really an excuse as I can normally schedule blog posts around my hectic lifestyle, so to make it up to you all, I thought I’d welcome back with a highly requested post about my internship at British Vogue. It feels crazy to be writing this, since just 12 months ago I was embarking upon my very first internship at heat magazine. But throughout the year, I’ve gone on to complete internships at Closer, Company, Now and Grazia. Time flies, huh? One year on and I can honestly say that not only has my experience grown, but I feel as though I’ve grown as a person, becoming much more confident, intuitive and clued-up about the magazine industry as a whole.

Vogue

So let me tell you from the start: I’d just returned home after finishing my internship at Grazia. I remember sitting in my room applying my make-up before heading out to meet a friend, with the question of ‘what am I going to do next?’ looming at the back of my mind. I checked my phone to find an email. An email that I had only envisaged receiving in my wildest dreams. It was from Lottie, the Beauty Assistant at British Vogue, offering me a 3-week internship on the Vogue beauty desk. My heart skipped a beat and before I could finish applying my winged eyeliner flick, my fingers couldn’t respond quickly enough. I’d done it. I’d finally bagged myself the internship of ALL internships and I couldn’t have been more delighted. Then of course, the first thing I asked myself was ‘but what to wear?’ I mean, I was only going to be working inside the biggest fashion magazine in the world. *deep breaths* No biggie…

Vogue Outfits

I spent my train journey down to London reading the work experience handbook, flicking through the pages of the latest issue of Vogue and receiving pep talks from my friends, i.e. reminders of how not to make a fool of myself. On day one, I entered Vogue House with a great deal of excitement and anticipation. I was introduced to my desk and to the beauty team: Jessica Diner (Beauty Editor), Funmi Fetto (Acting Beauty Director) and Lottie Winter (Beauty Assistant). Before you can ask whether it was a real-life ‘Devil Wears Prada’, let me answer with a profound NO. The girls were all super lovely and friendly and I immediately felt at home.

For the duration of my internship, I spent my days contacting PRs in regards to new products, researching for upcoming features, writing for the Vogue beauty blog and taking a first look at the amazing products that were delivered to the office each day (the beauty cupboard is like stepping into a cosmetic-filled Narnia). Because I enjoyed my internship so much, I was allowed to extend it for one week whilst the team were out on press trips. This gave me a chance to hold the fort and really show off how capable I was of keeping everything in check. During this week, I ensured all final articles were uploaded onto the system, liaised with the Art Director about how to shoot the products before sending them off to the photographer and even attended some press events, including the Sleek make-up event and being pampered and preened at the pop-up salon inside French Connection Regent Street. Not bad, hey?

Here are links to the blog posts I wrote:
http://www.vogue.co.uk/beauty/2014/05/21/dermaceutic-laboratoire-oil-reducing-mask-review
http://www.vogue.co.uk/beauty/2014/05/29/blow-bar-at-french-connection-regent-street

If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask and I’ll try my best to answer them.

Post to you soon! xoxo

Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Bloglovin | Lookbook

12 thoughts on “My Internship at British VOGUE

  1. i really want to start internships for magazines, but i don’t know where to apply or anything so if you would tell me how it would be a great help.

  2. Hello, I hope to make it into the fashion magazine industry too, and to work for Vogue is the ultimate dream! Can you give me some advice on how to get work experience with Vogue? x

  3. Hey, I love this blog post of yours! You have experienced some of the most amazing things and should be extremely proud of where you’ve come! I was wondering if you could offer me some advice on how to get to an internship (the dream being Vogue) at a fashion magazine.. I would really appreciate it if you could fill me in as to what you did after secondary school to how you got offered these placements.

    All the best for the future & keep writing because I adore your blog!

    -A
    xoxo

  4. Hi, I’d love to know how long it took for Vogue to respond to you about your application. Also did you get to choose what to write about for the website or did they assign it to you?

    What a fab post! I loved reading it.

    Thanks for sharing xx

Leave a Reply

