Vogue Festival 2014

20140330-141918.jpg

20140330-141940.jpg

20140330-141958.jpg

20140330-142017.jpg

20140330-142030.jpg

20140330-142053.jpg

20140330-142103.jpg

20140330-142120.jpg

20140330-142132.jpg

20140330-142158.jpg

20140330-142216.jpg

This weekend I attended The Vogue Festival, which was sponsored by Harrods. Admittedly, I hadn’t heard much about the event beforehand so I was excited to become part of it. The Vogue Festival was set inside London’s Southbank Centre and is essentially an event to commemorate the most prestigious fashion house in the world, Vogue. Talks were given by industry experts throughout the day, where visitors could learn more about the history of Vogue, hear stories about fashion designers and discover the various interpretations of personal style. The set up was better than I envisaged, with a Vogue shop and cafe, Burberry on hand to give makeovers, complimentary OPI manicures and a pop-up Kerastese salon where you could have your hair styled.

Just as I had managed to take in my surroundings, I was whisked off by a Harrods representative to take part in the #HarrodsLive catwalk show for a chance to win a £1000 gift card to spend in store (click on my Instagram link below and like my photo to vote!). Being someone who’s used to sitting and taking photos of the catwalk, it was fun to switch roles and actually walk it, so after dropping my bag backstage and a quick touch-up from Bobbi Brown, I was strutting my stuff on the catwalk. It was a great experience, but judging from my photo I think it’s best that I stick to the frow in future…

Next, I went to hear the talk about personal style, hosted by Lucinda Chambers (fashion director of British Vogue), Alexa Chung (TV presenter, model and British Vogue contributor), and Amanda Harlech (creative collaborator of Karl Lagerfield at Fendi and Chanel). To cut it short, the ultimate dream team, right? It was interesting to listen to three women who have such a great influence in the fashion industry and each share a mutual love for fashion, have slightly different perceptions of personal style. Their words left me feeling encouraged, amused and inspired.

After stopping for lunch in the Vogue cafe and watching behind the scenes video clips of Vogue photo shoots in the cinema room, it was time to head home. In the words of Madonna herself…strike a pose.

Thanks to Harrods for a perfect day.

Fashion fades, but style is eternal – Yves Saint Laurent

Post to you soon! xoxo

Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Bloglovin | Lookbook

2 thoughts on “Vogue Festival 2014

Leave a Reply

