What’s in my handbag – magazine internship edition

20140303-200947.jpg

20140303-201015.jpg

20140303-201037.jpg
Contents: Zara bag, Oyster card, Hand sanitiser, Hand cream, Earphones, Notebook & pen, Magazine
I’m back in the capital embarking upon my second time interning at Company magazine before I head off to Grazia (oh, can I just be Anna Wintour now please?). It’s fair to say that over the past 9 months I’ve had my fair share of internships, so I decided to create a little post sharing what I consider to be ‘day one magazine internship handbag essentials’. For some it may be a no-brainer, but for those experiencing first day nerves, something as important as your Oyster card could easily slip your mind. So let me begin by saying the morning commute on the underground isn’t the most enticing of places. Think herds of business men and women rushing to catch that one tube as if it’s the last (n.b. it isn’t. Tubes run approximately every 2 minutes, but ain’t nobody got time for that!). Make sure you top up your Oyster card a day or two in advance with enough credit to last the week, as you don’t want to be panicking amidst the 9am rush when you hear the dreaded ‘seek assistance’ bleep.

The only thing that keeps me sane (okay, perhaps I’m exaggerating) on the underground are my trusty earphones. Half an hour of Beyoncé serenading me > the automated sound of the lady announcing the next stop. Just make sure you don’t miss yours…

Nobody leaves the tube feeling fresh as a daisy, so I like to carry hand sanitizer and hand cream (Balance Me Rose Otto) for a quick on-the-go clean.

A little notebook and pen are extremely handy for when you’re shown the ropes on day one, as all the little things you need to know may seem quite overwhelming. It’s good to jot things down as you go along to prevent forgetting and having to ask. I like to make little to-do lists each day as well since it’s often that I’ll be in the middle of one task and get given another. This way I can tick off everything I do as I go along, without missing anything out.

If you’ve got enough space in your handbag, a pair of spare flat shoes are useful in case you decide to wear heeled shoes/boots. You may find that you’ll be on your feet a lot, so stepping into a pair of flats at the end of the day might just make that journey home all the more bearable.

The last thing I carry is a copy of the latest issue of the magazine I’ll be interning at. Of course, you should already know the magazine inside out, but it’s good to keep up-to-date and besides, it makes the commute go a lot faster.

Hope this post was helpful! Leave a comment and let me know if you’d like any other internship-related posts.

Post to you soon! xoxo

Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Bloglovin | Lookbook

7 thoughts on “What’s in my handbag – magazine internship edition

  1. Pingback: Day 1 Internship Essentials | UK Fashion Intern

Leave a Reply

