El Vergel restaurant, London

P1030820
P1030816
P1030818
P1030822
P1030817
P1030824
P1030825
P1030828
Despite my blog being primarily fashion and beauty-oriented, there’s no denying I’m a huge foodie at heart, so from time to time I enjoy featuring lifestyle posts of my food-related adventures. Having worked in London for a short while now, I always find myself wandering past new and enticing eateries in which I’ll make a mental note on my ‘to visit’ list. Although I start work at 8.30am each day, I have in no means become a morning person and I doubt I’ll become one any time soon. Lie-ins are a thing of the past; so on the very rare occasion I’ll get to, it’s often that I’ll miss the breakfast serving times of many local restaurants – a real shame and ahem, sheer laziness, seeing as a proper breakfast/brunch (N.B. not a fry-up) is my favourite meal of the day. However, on my travels this morning, I came across a homely, authentic looking joint that, wait for it, serves brunch until 4pm on Saturdays and Sundays. Result.

El Vergel is a Latin American and Mediterranean restaurant serving freshly made traditional dishes direct from the open-plan kitchen. Instant brownie points from me. I couldn’t wait to savour the taste of a hearty Latin American brunch – a far cry from my usual Eggs Benedict with Hollandaise sauce, to say the least. The décor of the restaurant is extremely authentic, with clay vases, brightly painted crockery and Aladdin’s cave style cushions and throws. I felt as though I had stepped right out of London straight into Mexico or Brazil. The atmosphere was relaxed and the staff super friendly. The menu is reasonably priced (mains cost around £7 average – amazing for central London) and boasts an array of mouth-watering appetizers and main dishes, with plenty of options for both meat eaters and vegetarians/vegans. I opted for a mango smoothie made with Greek yoghurt, a main of corn flour tortillas with scrambled eggs in piquant sauce, pinto beans, avocado and a side of grilled halloumi cheese. Delicious would be an understatement. The flavours really complemented each other and the portion size was enough to satisfy my hunger, without making me feel uncomfortably full.

I recommend El Vergel for those who are looking for brunch with a twist. You won’t be disappointed.

El Vergel, Webber St, Southwark, London SE1


Post to you soon! xoxo

Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “El Vergel restaurant, London

Leave a Reply

