An interview with New Look Fashion

If you follow my blog (or any of my social media accounts), you’ll know that I recently attended London Fashion Week and whilst there, worked with the lovely New Look team by dabbling in a spot of filming and lounging in their fabulous Refuel room (read about it here). This week, they contacted me to find out about my experience and asked me to share some info about LFW and my blog:

What was your favourite part of the New Look Refuel room?
This one is difficult! I loved everything about it, but if I have to narrow it down I’d say my favourite part was the origami making. It was such a cute, fun and different aspect and certainly something I never thought I’d be doing during fashion week! The instructor, Sesame, showed me how to make a little pair of origami stilettos, which actually wasn’t as tricky as I expected. He’d also made an origami blouse and skirt. So cute!

Origami stilettos

Was there a key fashion theme running through this year’s LFW?
Sports luxe was a big contender on the catwalk this season, with many designers showcasing over-sized slogan sweaters, graphic print crop tops with matching shorts, and zip-up bomber jackets. I’m not a sporty person, nor do I tend to dress overly casual, but I’ve become a huge fan of the ‘sportswear meets chic’ trend. I love how it’s the perfect mix of high-fashion and comfort, without looking like you’re about to run the 10k.

P1010681

Do you have any tips for making the most out of your time at LFW?
Be the most organised person ever! I keep a notebook and pen in my bag to write down my schedule for each day, so which shows/presentations I’ll be attending and any hair/beauty appointments I have booked. This way I can work out how much free time I have in between to peruse the exhibitions, take some street style snaps and sit and do some blogging. It’s surprising how easily you lose track of time when there’s so much going on around you.

Also, take every opportunity you can get. Fashion week is the home of networking and adding contacts to that little black book is extremely important in this industry. So if you see someone you recognise and have the chance to speak to them, go for it. Ask them a few questions; give them your contact card, anything! It can be quite daunting at first but you’ll be kicking yourself if you missed out on the chance to liaise with the editor of your favourite fashion mag just because you felt a bit embarrassed.

Notebook

If you could sit in the front row with all the celebs, who would you want to sit next to?
Without a shadow of a doubt, the one and only, Anna Wintour. I’m not really one to ‘fan girl’ over a celeb, but this woman is everything I aspire to be. I mean, who doesn’t want to be Queen of Vogue?! I’m determined to fill her shoes in the future!

Anna Wintour frow

Describe your experience at LFW in 3 words.
Exciting, inspiring and hectic!

What would you say are your biggest challenges as a blog owner?
Sometimes it’s hard to find a balance between my busy work schedule and blogging, so my biggest challenge is most definitely making sure that I stay on top of my blog alongside interning. I really miss blogging when I’m tied down with work commitments; I think it’s important to blog regularly because there’s nothing worse than long stretches of zero posts!

Thanks, New Look! And hope those of you reading enjoyed this little interview! Make sure you click here to check out New Look’s LFW fashion page.

Post to you soon xoxo

Leave a comment