Essie & Models Own

P1000944

Essie 'Mint Candy Apple' £8 Models Own 'Southern Lights' £5

Essie ‘Mint Candy Apple’ £8
Models Own ‘Southern Lights’ £5


A new day, a new nail polish; today I’m wearing Essie’s Mint Candy Apple and Southern Lights by Models Own. I’m beginning to stray from my predominantly monochrome wardrobe and embrace the wonderful array of pastels which complement the spring season. Despite the temperamental weather, I opted for a lustrous mint accompanied by an ever so sparkly silver and blue glitter for my feature nail.

When it comes to nail polish, Essie is most definitely up there as one of my favourite brands. Mint Candy Apple is the exact shade of mint that I was after, sitting perfectly on the colour spectrum between green and blue. After using a clear base, I applied two coats of this polish and then set it with a clear top coat. The polish applies smoothly on to the nail bed, leaving no streaks or bumps. It appears to be highly durable too; I’ve had this on for 3 days so far and not a chip in sight!

Now this may not come as a surprise, but I’m a sucker for anything that glitters, so when I laid eyes on Models Own’s Southern Lights I became enraptured by its sparkle. The polish is part of the Wonderland collection which was released around Christmas (a long time ago I know) but let’s face it, when it comes to glitter it’s never too late to jump on the bandwagon. Southern Lights comprises navy glitter with iridescent silver pieces, which really catch the light and enhance the dazzling effect. I applied two coats of this over the mint colour and the combination fits like a hand in a glove –perfect.

Have you tried these polishes before?

Post to you soon! xoxo

5 thoughts on “Essie & Models Own

  1. I have started to get obsessed with Essie, which is dangerous because it’s not exactly the cheapest nail polish out there. It seems like it’s a little more costly in the UK because here it is $7-8. I love their Bikini So Teeny shade. It’s a very nice pastel blue. That sparkly shade is also really pretty, especially paired with the Mint Candy Apple.

Leave a Reply

