Real Techniques Core Collection Brush Kit

P1000878

L-R: Contour, Pointed foundation, Detailer, Buffing

L-R: Contour brush, Pointed foundation brush, Detailer brush, Buffing brush – £21.99


After reading SO many rave reviews and watching countless makeup tutorials, I was desperate to try out the Real Techniques brushes, designed by Samantha Chapman from pixiwoo. Since base makeup is my most essential beauty product, the core collection kit was a must. The brushes aim to create a smooth, flawless coverage, which was exactly what I was on the hunt for. A problem I find with my old brushes is that the bristles are quite flimsy so it’s harder to achieve an even finish. The real techniques brushes are made with fine taklon bristles that feel super soft on the skin whilst being sturdy too.

Contour brush – This is perfect for using on more delicate areas of the face. I use this brush to apply concealer around my eye area and highlighter along the top of my cheekbones. It feels light on the skin and only needs to be brushed gently to create a smooth, sheer finish.

Pointed foundation brush – This brush works best with liquid foundations. To be honest, I prefer using my MAC 190 since the brush is wider. However, the pointed tip of the real techniques is useful for creating more precise coverage around the nose and chin area.

Detailer brush – The detailer brush is ideal for cream based concealers and helps to disguise blemishes. It can also be used to apply lipstick, although I’m too lazy to do this!

Buffing brush – This is my favourite brush of the collection. I use it to apply my MAC Mineralize powder (pictured), by carefully sweeping it over my face. It provides even, full coverage and I also find it works well for blending blusher and bronzer on the apples of the cheeks. This produces a more gradual flush of colour rather than a distinct line between your foundation!

Have you tried out the Real Techniques brushes?

Post to you soon xoxo

9 thoughts on “Real Techniques Core Collection Brush Kit

Leave a Reply

