My internship at Company magazine

1521924_10151868797104849_1178657577_n
1512431_10151868797094849_391055710_n
1525042_10151902234124849_1274623647_n
1536572_207590836096390_1447734414_n
1517632_208473142674826_855682920_n

For those that don’t know, I finished university last year with a hard-earned English degree under my belt and ever since, have been working like a mad woman in a bid to make it to the top spot as a fashion writer for a magazine. This has involved writing for numerous online publications, attending London Fashion Weeks and interning at various fashion companies and magazines. A few months ago I found out that I was going to be interning at one of my all-time favourite fashion mags, Company, and let me tell you, it certainly didn’t take long for the excitement to kick in. I mean, it’s not often you get to go behind the pages of the magazine you’ve been reading religiously for as long as you can remember. I felt honoured to have secured my place and proud in the sense that all my hard work was carrying me in the right direction. Metaphorically speaking, I’d earned myself the right to move a few steps up the ladder (woohooo!). So last month, I packed my bags and headed to London…

Company is a part of Hearst Magazines UK – a huge publisher of monthly mags, such as Cosmopolitan, Reveal and Elle. The offices are located in central London’s lively Soho, which involved a morning commute down Oxford Street. Pleasant, one may think, but in reality this actually turned out to be the biggest tease EVER and I’m almost 100% sure I heard Topshop calling my name each day. But anyway, I digress. On day one I was introduced to the lovely fashion team, and of course, to the fashion cupboard where I was provided with my own computer for the month, complete with a personal Company email address. My role mainly involved compiling credits and prices, liaising with PRs, arranging appointments for the stylists, and calling in and returning samples for the upcoming fashion shoots – which may not seem so glamorous, but I loved seeing all of the clothes that entered the cupboard and being able to get a sneak peak at the SS14 trends/what was being shot for the next issue! During my first week I got the chance to be involved in the digital side of Company and had my street style photo taken for the weekly ‘Office Style Blog’ on company.co.uk (link here). It was flattering to know that I was deemed ‘fashionable’ by the fash team!

The most exciting part of the internship was when I got to take a day away from the office and assist on the ‘Street Girl’ photoshoot for Company’s March issue. This meant that I had to be up bright and early to be at the studio located in Shoreditch. I had such a fun time helping Sarah, Company’s fashion assistant, style the bloggers who were being photographed. The photographers and the make-up artist were all fab to work with and it was nice to have a little chat with everyone over a tasty Pret lunch!

Because I was interning in the run-up to Christmas, I was always kept busy in the office and never ran out of things to do (perfect for a girl who hates twiddling her thumbs!). Despite any Devil Wears Prada-esque horror stories you may have heard about interning at a fashion magazine, I can confirm that in my experience there were none! I loved every minute of my internship right down to the little office perks such as the cupcake deliveries and even picking out some cute little bits in the jewellery clearout. On my last day I felt sad to leave, but took pride in the fact that I’d learnt so much over the four weeks and met some really wonderful people.

If I could give any advice to those who are looking into or have secured a fashion internship then I would say: just be yourself, don’t be afraid to ask or offer help and speak to as many people as you can. It’s a once in a lifetime opportunity so there’s no time to shy away! It’s so important to make a good impression and make yourself memorable because you never know what doors it will open in the future.

If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask and I’ll try to answer them as best I can! I’d love to hear about any internships you’ve done too.

Post to you soon! xoxo

10 thoughts on “My internship at Company magazine

  1. That sounds amazing! Company is my absolute favourite magazine too – I read it religiously. I’ve got a work experience placement at Tatler magazine on Monday – I’m so nervous!!! But your post has helped my nerves, and I’m so excited. How do you get an internship at Company?! God knows how many times I tried :(

    I found your blog through Company’s retweet; I’m loving it :) take a look at mine if you wish! http://www.xlondonrose.blogspot.com

    Rebecca xx

    • Oh wow, congratulations on your Tatler internship! I’m sure you’ll love it :)

      I found all the contact details on the Company website and just emailed my CV and cover letter. How did you get one at Tatler?!

      Glad you like my blog! I’ll take a look at yours now :) xx

  2. Hello!

    I’m a second year student currently studying Public Relations and Media. I’ve strated lookng for interns now, so i just wondered how you found the company one? and do you have any tips etc for making sure you appeal to them?

    thanks! x

    • I went on the contact section of their website and emailed my cv and cover letter to the fashion assistant! My biggest piece of advice would be to make sure your cover letter stands out. Think of a way to make it unique and memorable against other applicants! It’s okay to think outside the box a little :)

      Good luck! x

  3. I write for the wordpress Blog Jump For Journalism-would you be willing to do an interview about your internship at Company? You can contact me at my contact page, at my blog Mademoisellewomen.wordpress.com

    x

Leave a Reply

